Historic Preservation Commission


This commission is a voice for historic preservation through efforts on educational programs/events, supporting projects that enhance historical resources through access to grants, and maintaining an inventory of historic resources in Cedar Falls.  As a Certified Local Government, Cedar Falls’ Historic Preservation Commission implements the program requirements issued by the State of Iowa to maintain that status.

The Historic Preservation Commission was established by Section 2-343 of the City Code. The Historic Preservation Commission typically meets the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30pm at City Hall. All meetings are open to the public.

Public Records


Five members serve three-year terms:

  • Nathan Arndt - Term ends 03/31/22
  • Brian Hayes - Term ends 03/31/2022
  • Michael Mahncke - Term ends 03/31/2022
  • Julie Etheredge - Term ends 03/31/2023
  • Sally Timmer - Term ends 03/31/2023

City Staff Liaison

Apply for Appointment

Submit the General Application on the Boards & Commissions homepage, and check the checkbox for this board/commission. You’ll be notified when a board opening occurs for further consideration.

Events and News

Thank you to everyone that came to the History of Cedar Heights with Architectural Tour event on September 9, 2021! If you missed the event, view the presentation here.